The Magazine of The Evangelical Lutheran Church in America


U.S. Congress: 15 from ELCA

Three U.S. senators and 12 members of the House of Representatives belong to ELCA congregations, said Andrew D. Genzler, director of advocacy, ELCA Washington office.

The 15 are among 26 Lutherans in Congress.

"Lutheran members bring a sense of the importance of public service and the vocation of public office," Genzler said. "Our Lutheran perspective is that government is one place we find God active in our common life — preserving order, protecting creation, helping people struggling with hunger and poverty, and building peace."

The returning ELCA senators are Sherrod Brown, D-Ohio; Tim Johnson, D-S.D.; and Jeff Merkley, D-Ore.

Former North Dakota Sen. Byron Dorgan, a Democrat, retired.

The representatives are Rick Berg, R-N.D.; Lois Capps, D-Calif.; John Carter, R-Texas; Norman Dicks, D-Wash.; Martin Heinrich, D-N.M.; Tom Latham, R-Iowa; Zoe Lofgren, D-Calif.; Collin Peterson, D-Minn.; Thomas Petri, R-Wis.; Chellie Pingree, D-Maine; Bill Shuster, R-Pa.; Tim Walz, D-Minn.


Print subscribers and supporting Web members may comment.

Log in or Subscribe to comment.

text size:

this page: email | print

February issue


Embracing diversity