The Magazine of The Evangelical Lutheran Church in America


LWF selects treasurer, vice presidents

Plus: Greetings from the Vatican

The Lutheran World Federation treasurer is chosen by the Executive Council. Christina Jackson-Skelton, treasurer of the ELCA, was selected as LWF treasurer and council member.

Walter Kasper, outgoing secretary of
Walter Kasper, outgoing secretary of the Pontifical Council for Promoting Christian Unity, brings ecumenical greetings from the Roman Catholic Church to the LWF Assembly. He says he feels "deep emotion and gratitude" looking back on "these years of such rich and enriching cooperation with the [LWF]."
LWF vice presidents are chosen from the seven regions of the LWF.

They are:

• Africa — Bishop Alex Malasusa, Evangelical Lutheran Church in Tanzania.

• Asia — Eun-hae Kwon, lay member, Lutheran Church in Korea.

• Central Eastern Europe — Bishop Tamás Fabiny (Northern Diocese), The Evangelical Lutheran Church in Hungary.

• Central Western Europe — Bishop Frank O. July, Evangelical Lutheran Church in Württemberg.

• Latin America and the Caribbean — Gloria Rojas Vargas, a pastor of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Chile.

• Nordic Countries — Bishop Helga Haugland Byfuglien (Diocese of Borg), Church of Norway.

• North America — Bishop Susan Johnson, Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada.


Print subscribers and supporting Web members may comment.

Log in or Subscribe to comment.

text size:

this page: email | print

February issue


Embracing diversity