The Magazine of The Evangelical Lutheran Church in America


Bishop elections

Elected: Michael A. Last, 54, as bishop, Western Iowa Synod, effective July 1.

When: April 21, on the fifth ballot, 240-217 over David B. Zellmer, pastor of Lutheran Memorial, Pierre, S.D.

Bio: Assistant to the bishop, Western Iowa Synod. Served four congregations in Iowa. Graduate of North-western Lutheran Seminary (now Luther Seminary), St. Paul, Minn.

Replaces: Curtis H. Miller, whose term ends June 30.


Re-elected: Mark Hanson, bishop of the St. Paul Area Synod, April 21, on the third ballot with 353 of 476 votes.


Print subscribers and supporting Web members may comment.

Log in or Subscribe to comment.

text size:

this page: email | print

March issue

MARCH issue:

All are welcome