The Magazine of The Evangelical Lutheran Church in America



Indiana-Kentucky Synod

Elected: William O. Gafkjen, 52, as bishop of the Indiana-Kentucky Synod, effective Sept. 1.

When: June 6 on the fifth ballot, with 301 votes. Steven L. Schwier, a pastor of Christ the King Lutheran Church, South Bend, Ind., had 168 votes.

Bio: Assistant to the synod bishop. Pastor of Grace, Mora, Minn.; Holy Trinity, Niles, Mich.; Lutheran Campus Ministries at Pennsylvania State University, State College, Pa.; Evangelical, Duncanville, Pa.; and Christ the King, South Bend.

Replaces: James R. Stuck, who is retiring.

Delaware-Maryland Synod

Elected: Wolfgang D. Herz-Lane, 56, as bishop of the Delaware-Maryland Synod, effective Sept. 1.

When: June 12, on the fifth ballot, with 255 votes. John D. Ranney, a retired ELCA pastor and synod council member, Lewes, Del., had 224 votes.

Bio: Assistant to the synod bishop and director for evangelical mission. Served Camden [N.J.] Lutheran Parish and Bridge of Peace Community Church, Camden. Executive director, Good Samaritan Center, Camden; mission director for the New Jersey and Metropolitan Washington, D.C., synods.

Replaces: Gerard Knoche, who retired in October 2009.

Northern Illinois Synod

Re-elected: Gary M. Wollersheim, 59, to a third six-year term as bishop of the Northern Illinois Synod, June 18, on the first ballot, with 331 of 433 votes.


Print subscribers and supporting Web members may comment.

Log in or Subscribe to comment.

text size:

this page: email | print

March issue

MARCH issue:

All are welcome