The Magazine of The Evangelical Lutheran Church in America


Leadership change at Wartburg Seminary

The board of directors at Wartburg Seminary, Dubuque, Iowa, announced the appointment of David L. Tiede as interim president of the school beginning July 1.

The action followed the announcement earlier in April that Duane H. Larson had resigned as the seminary's president, effective July 1.

"God is calling me to do something new in my pastoral and teaching vocation, alongside the welcome new personal life I will begin with my wedding this spring," Larson said.

Larson has served as president of Wartburg since 1999. Established in Dubuque in 1854, Wartburg is in its 156th academic year and is one of eight seminaries of the ELCA.

Tiede, an ELCA pastor living in White Bear Lake, Minn., is currently professor of vocation at Augsburg College, Minneapolis. He is also president emeritus and professor of New Testament at Luther Seminary, St. Paul, Minn.

"Dr. Tiede has graciously accepted the offer to lead the board during a transition period that will set new directions for Wartburg Theological Seminary," said Rita Dudley, Manchester, Iowa, chair of the seminary's board of directors.


Print subscribers and supporting Web members may comment.

Log in or Subscribe to comment.

text size:

this page: email | print

March issue

MARCH issue:

All are welcome