The Magazine of The Evangelical Lutheran Church in America


Bishop elections

Elected: William E. (Bill) Rindy, 46, as bishop of the Eastern North Dakota Synod, effective July 1.

Bill Rindy
William E. (Bill) Rindy

When: April 6 on the fourth ballot with 372 votes. Jeffrey L. Sandgren, pastor of Olivet Lutheran Church, Fargo, N.D., received 177 votes.

Bio: Pastor of First Lutheran Church, Fargo. Served Shiloh (Elmore, Minn.) and Trinity (Lisbon, N.D.) Lutheran churches. Taught math and physics at Carrington [N.D.] High School.

Replaces: Richard J. (Rick) Foss, who had served since 1992 and was ineligible for election.

Elected: Mark W. Holmerud, 51, as bishop of the Sierra Pacific Synod, effective July 1.

Mark W. Holmerud
Mark W. Holmerud

When: April 26 on the sixth ballot, with 328 votes. Nancy M. Feniuk Nelson, pastor of Coastside Lutheran Church, Half Moon Bay, Calif., received 92 votes.

Bio: Pastor of Lutheran Church of the Incarnation, Davis, Calif. Served Zion Lutheran Church, Stockton, Calif., and in the U.S. Navy.

Replaces: David G. Mullen, who will retire.


Print subscribers and supporting Web members may comment.

Log in or Subscribe to comment.

text size:

this page: email | print

February issue


Embracing diversity