The Magazine of The Evangelical Lutheran Church in America


Stages of faith

Psychologist James Fowler’s research published in 1981, Stages of Faith: The Psychology of Human Development and the Quest for Meaning (HarperSanFrancisco, 1995), outlines seven stages of faith development from birth to old age. In his approach to faith development, he’s not concerned about the content of faith. Instead, he’s trying to describe ways of being in faith, of holding beliefs, of knowing and valuing. Four of the seven stages may occur in adulthood:

• “I believe what the church believes.” Beginning in early adolescence a person gathers beliefs from family, peers and church and brings them together. This may be largely unconscious as faith is defined by what family and church or other outside authorities believe.

The rest of this article is only available to subscribers.

text size:

this page: email | print

March issue

MARCH issue:

All are welcome