The Magazine of The Evangelical Lutheran Church in America


Bishops election

Elected: James Stuck, 50, as bishop of the Indiana-Kentucky Synod, effective Sept. 1.

When: June 5, on the fourth ballot, 411-118 over Ronald Voss, pastor of Servants of Christ Lutheran Church, Indianapolis.

Bio: Pastor of King of Glory Lutheran Church, Carmel, Ind. Graduate of Capital University, Columbus, Ohio, and Trinity Seminary, Columbus. Served other congregations in Indiana, Michigan and Ohio.

Replaces: Ralph Kempski, who retires Sept. 1.


Elected: Gary Wollersheim, 47, as bishop of the Northern Illinois Synod, effective Sept. 1.

When: June 20, on the fourth ballot, 355-72 over Donna Hacker Smith, pastor of St. James Lutheran Church, Forreston, Ill.

Bio: Mission director of the Northern Illinois Synod. Graduate of Augsburg College, Minneapolis; Northwestern Lutheran Seminary, St. Paul, Minn.; and Luther Seminary, St. Paul. Served congregations in Illinois.

Replaces: Ronald Hasley, who retires Sept. 1.


Print subscribers and supporting Web members may comment.

Log in or Subscribe to comment.

text size:

this page: email | print

March issue

MARCH issue:

All are welcome