The Magazine of The Evangelical Lutheran Church in America


Royal assent

England and Wales became the 16th and 17th countries to recognize gay marriage July 17 when Queen Elizabeth II gave "royal assent" to a same-sex marriage bill. The law allows same-sex couples to be joined in either civil ceremonies or church services, although it doesn't require any religious denomination to perform the marriage. Separate legislation has been presented to the Scottish government to make same-sex marriage legal, and debates are expected to begin in Edinburgh in October.


Print subscribers and supporting Web members may comment.

Log in or Subscribe to comment.

text size:

this page: email | print

March issue

MARCH issue:

All are welcome