The Magazine of The Evangelical Lutheran Church in America


Lutherans in 'religiously diverse' Congress

Fourteen ELCA members are among the 113th U.S. Congress that is sworn in this month — four in the Senate and 10 in the House. The senators, all Democrats, are Sherrod Brown, Ohio; Martin Heinrich, New Mexico (elected from the House to the Senate); Tim Johnson, South Dakota; and Jeff Merkley, Oregon, according to the ELCAWashington office.

Members of the House who self-identify as ELCA (newly elected are in italics) are Lois Capps, D-Calif., 24th; Dennis Heck, D-Wash., 10th; Tom Latham, R-Iowa, 3rd; Zoe Lofgren, D-Calif., 19th; Scott Peters, D-Calif. 52nd; Collin Peterson, D-Minn., 7th; Thomas Petri, R-Wis., 6th; Chellie Pingree, D-Maine, 1st; Bill Shuster, R-Pa., 9th and Tim Walz, D-Minn., 1st. 

Rep. Rick Berg, R-N.D., ran for the Senate and was defeated while Rep. Norman Dicks, D-Wash., 6th, retired. Angela Zimmann, an ELCA pastor, lost her bid to represent Ohio's 5th district in Congress.

Eight other members of Congress identify as Lutheran Church–Missouri Synod orWisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod members, including Michele Bachmann, R-Minn.

The rest of this article is only available to subscribers.

text size:

this page: email | print

February issue


Embracing diversity