The Magazine of The Evangelical Lutheran Church in America


Burkat and Tiemann re-elected


Claire Burkat, 60, to a second six-year term as bishop of the Southeastern Pennsylvania Synod, May 4, on the first ballot with 348 of 464 votes.

Ray Tiemann, 59, to a third six-year term as bishop of the Southwestern Texas Synod, May 20, on the fifth ballot with 199 votes. Michael Coffey, pastor of First English Lutheran Church, Austin, Texas, received 157 votes.


Print subscribers and supporting Web members may comment.

Log in or Subscribe to comment.

text size:

this page: email | print