The Magazine of The Evangelical Lutheran Church in America


Oppression continues

The U.S. State Department recently reinstated the eight nations labeled as the most serious violators of religious freedom.

They are Burma, China, Eritrea, Iran, North Korea, Saudi Arabia, Sudan and Uzbekistan.

"It is our core conviction that religious tolerance is one of the essential elements not only of a sustainable democracy but of a peaceful society that respects the rights and dignity of each individual," said Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton.


Print subscribers and supporting Web members may comment.

Log in or Subscribe to comment.

text size:

this page: email | print

October issue

OCTOBER issue:

Women and the Reformation: Then & Now